Do our emote standards make TI less accessible?

Talk about anything TI here! Also include suggestions for the game, website, and these forums.

Moderators: Maeve, Maeve

Geras

Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:56 pm

Came across this thread on Reddit, and thought it worth mentioning:

https://www.reddit.com/r/MUD/comments/5 ... based_mud/

Of note was this part:
Also, while I liked The Inquisition and its non-combat XP accumulation and skill advancement, I'm kind of hoping for something a little less intense in how roleplaying is "measured". That is, I want to spend a lot of time doing "say" commands and short emotes to interact with other people, and less time constructing five-sentence emotes as if I am a professional author writing a story. Either the XP formula would have to be less rigorous about measuring whether or not you are RPing, or even better XP might not exist at all and skill advancement would be less concrete and formulaic.
Anyone have any thoughts?

Andruid

Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:58 pm

I sympathize somewhat with this remark, as I think short, snappy dialogue can be used to good effect in some scenes, and not every scene should require participants to write a novella.

Where I think we could probably afford to make a slight adjustment is in reducing the length requirement on hemotes. Right now, even something like hemote flicks a sharp glance in /bald's direction. does not count toward RPXP rate because it's considered too short by the system. I often have to artificially inflate my hemotes just to make them count toward my RPXP rate. I don't have this problem with thinks, because the length requirement for thinks is much lower.

This would be one simple way to address the above criticism without necessarily dictating -how- people should RP.

Gerolf

Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:17 pm

I am of a split mind on the subject: