On putting on armors

Talk about anything TI here! Also include suggestions for the game, website, and these forums.

Moderators: Maeve, Maeve

Puciek

Sat Aug 29, 2015 8:17 pm

"About armor, as most people travel without them, just stick complete plate on their horse in a box, and then combat is due they just put it on in matter of seconds. While I am no expert on weapons and armor from that era, I had some experience with wearing those armors and putting them even with help is problematic and can take quite some time (depending how much stuff you need to put on), and often it is impossible to do on your own and it just doesn't make sense to me for people to quickly jump into them like they do now because it allows them to negate the downside to wearing armor without losing the benefits. Is there something we can do to stop that? Or maybe I am just bonkers about it and this is fine, then please let me know."

The issue with that is that i firmly believe that heavy armors should require careful planning to be used, not be something you default to with each call to action (especially when there is no time to prepare). I perfectly understand that we do not want people to walk all the time in armors "just in case" (because that would be uncomfortable as hell) but I think that the way it is atm where people do "10 second plating" and rush to action is a bit broken in the other direction. I also do not think that we need a coding fix for this, instead maybe a policy to not put on heavier armors if the situation is fast paced?
Like if you are running/charging across town because someone cried for help, that obviously is a spot where you will fight in what you wear. But if you are in safe place (not middle of the road outside of tavern) preparing for an assault then it is more than fine to just quickly "plate up" because there is no icly sense of rush.